Direction -by morfeas9

You said: “I’ll go to another country, go to another shore,
find another city better than this one.
Whatever I try to do is fated to turn out wrong
and my heart lies buried as though it were something dead.
How long can I let my mind moulder in this place?
Wherever I turn, wherever I happen to look,
I see the black ruins of my life, here,
where I’ve spent so many years, wasted them, destroyed them totally.”

You won’t find a new country, won’t find another shore.
This city will always pursue you. You will walk
the same streets, grow old in the same neighborhoods,
will turn gray in these same houses.
You will always end up in this city. Don’t hope for things elsewhere:
there is no ship for you, there is no road.
As you’ve wasted your life here, in this small corner,
you’ve destroyed it everywhere else in the world.

I had no need to read this poem again, no need to stumble upon its lingual re-packaging, no need to look back at “His” marks.

I did this for a friend in distance, just to let him know that I care.

8 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

8 responses to “Direction -by morfeas9

  1. Well, I could suggest a few minor corrections for more punch although I don’t know if the poet intended them to have punch or not.

  2. You mean Kavafis or the english translator??

  3. Ah, I thought you translated it.

  4. Sorry no such athkiasi. Do you think this transition went down smoothly?

  5. Did you show to a friend that you care by copy/pasting and pressing the “Translate” button? I think I would find athkiasi to do a manual translation if it was meant for a friend.

    Kavafis is probably the easiest poet to be computer-translated because his verses are so literal. Which probably means that it’s the only poetry that will survive when robots take over the world. Which is soon.

  6. Ppppeeeeeee…. passy this is not a computer generated poem. Siga na men kamni to babel fish etsi poiima!!

    “Translated by Edmund Keeley and Philip Sherrard.”

    And as for that friend… I think this is enough to get my message through.

  7. Haha. Everything makes sense now🙂

  8. Order has been restored!!

Leave a Reply

